Budget for tipping across your trip. Restaurant service charges do not always replace a personal tip; a small extra is customary for good service. Simple local meals may just call for rounding up.
About 10–15%Dining quick answer
Guidance applies to the services described below; customs can differ by provider. How we research our guides
FIND YOUR SITUATION
Egypt tipping cheat sheet
Amounts, whether a tip is expected, and the exceptions that matter. Open a row to see the supporting source.
RestaurantsAdvice & exceptionsAbout 10–15%
Budget for tipping across your trip. Restaurant service charges do not always replace a personal tip; a small extra is customary for good service. Simple local meals may just call for rounding up.
Before paying: Check for an included service charge or gratuity. If adding a card tip, confirm the total before completing payment; with cash, make clear what is a tip and what change you need.
This 11-day itinerary lists a US$70–90 per-person staff kitty, paid in local currency, and a separate guide tip. Other itineraries differ; do not duplicate tips already covered by your package. On The Go Tours
FROM ARRIVAL TO CHECKOUT
Your journey
Arriving & getting around
Keep a prepaid airport transfer separate from a metered taxi or a full-day driver. For tour budgets, check the unit and whether guide and driver tips are separate.
If you choose to give a personal cash tip, use a currency the recipient can spend and make its purpose clear. Card payment for the bill does not guarantee a card-tip facility. Check the final total before approving it.
For a prepaid tour or resort stay, read the gratuity inclusions. A service fee, a staff tip pool and an individual guide tip may cover different people.
RESEARCH YOU CAN FOLLOW
Sources & review notes
Last reviewed . Each service answer links to its evidence. Official visitor guidance, operator recommendations and older publisher examples are identified separately. A review date records our check; it does not make an old source new.
World Travel Guide — Egypt: food & drink ↗Country-specific dining reference; publication date not stated. Amounts are guidance, not fixed fees. Accessed September 17, 2026.
Intrepid Travel — Egypt: tipping FAQ ↗First-party tour-operator guidance, cross-checked with the dining reference where available. Not a rule for every local provider; publication date not stated. Accessed September 17, 2026.
On The Go Tours — Classical Egypt itinerary ↗Current advertised itinerary checked September 17, 2026. Its guide recommendation and trip kitty are operator-specific, not universal Egypt rates. Accessed September 17, 2026.
No amount is inferred from a neighboring country. Operator examples are not national tariffs, and a documented “optional” answer does not imply a fixed amount exists. Next editorial review due March 17, 2027; monitoring is not automated.